If you have been arrested for the first offense of a DUI, then you should know that you will be facing only a misdemeanor charge. A misdemeanor does not mean that it less serious. Any charge including a misdemeanor can have very serious effects on a variety of things in your life including applying for insurance, job applications or promotions and a permanent criminal record.
At Elkhart DWI Lawyers, we can represent people who have been charged of the drunk driving offense in Indiana. We have many years of experience and our legal team of lawyers focus on DUI defense, so that our clients will get strong defense that will take in account all aspects of the law. We have handled sa few thousand of severe drunk driving cases.
Under The Indiana law, a person who is found guilty of driving under the influence, then the person who is driving or who is in actual control of the vehicle in this state driving while under the influence of alcohol or any substance controlled under the Indiana Statutes when to the extent the person normal ability is impaired or the person has a blood alcohol level of 0.08 or more.
The way our law states, then it applies to both the alcohol and the drugs. You will be charged with a misdemeanor DUI and it does not matter what the substance influences you have used including from beer or wine to using marijuana or even prescribed drugs as long as your normal ability is impaired.
The first offense can be punishable by fines that range from $500 to $1,000, a drivers license revocation from six months to one year, and imprisonment of up to six months, a ten day vehicle impounding or vehicle immobilization, mandatory reporting to probation officer up to one year. These mandatory conditions of probation will include the attendance of an approved alcohol safety education course with a substance abuse testing and evaluation and treatment the court recommends of more than fifty hours of community service performed in the local community.
A second offense will including any out of state charges only if the date of the offense is over five years of the first conviction and is punishable by fines of paying $1,000 to $2,000, drivers license revocation from six months to one year imprisonment of up to nine months, a thirty day vehicle impounding or vehicle immobilization, and mandatory reporting to probation officer on the same condition.
Misdemeanor DUI and employment will be tough without legal aid. Misdemeanor DUI job application may be disapproved and it can be very hard for you to find a job. If you have been charged with misdemeanor DUI with injury, then you will certainly need legal advice and legal representation in court. You can get a free DUI consultation with the lawyer to help determine your legal needs. It will last from 30 minutes to one hour. If you are eligible for representation, then your first appointment will be scheduled as soon as possible.